Something Now

A year from now you may wish you had started today

I’m intrigued by where things can take a person, a person who just allows things to happen and goes with it. Not always easy when we’ve all got agendas and lots to do, but that’s the beauty of stepping off the trail for a moment. In this case I’ve been considering the concept of just being in the now. It’s all around us and we’re being told to do it by countless swirly fonted books and mugs sold in trendy shops. But is it really possible?ย 

This photo is of a couple at La Boqueria Market in Barcelona. They had been shopping and had taken a break at this bar. I liked that they had forgotten their surroundings and wanted to have a few seconds for themselves.
There’s all sorts of motivational messages going on here,ย stopping for a moment, appreciating the person next to you, stepping off the trail, enjoying the now etc. It’s something that I know I need to do a lot more of, I do think about it a lot.

This lady as you’ll guess is in Paris, one of the most beautiful cities in the world. Behind her there are countless unforgettable scenes but as so often happens we choose to look at our phones instead of observing what’s around us.ย It’s a shame isn’t it, but throughout most of my travels I’ve seen groups of people sat in the most amazing places looking at their phones. Trying something new in this case is actually just stopping to stand and stare. Like my market couple enjoy the now and each other, there’s not much more to it and I think we’d appreciate things so much more.

Tomorrow I’m going to try it, less time idly looking through my phone at nothing in particular, checking messages and swatting through facebook,ย less time flicking through rubbish tele… who’s with me?!ย 

https://www.instagram.com/annewalkerphoto/

One Comment Add yours

  1. I agree with you 100% Well said, on all fronts,

    Like

Leave a Reply

