Motivate me please!

I’d love to jump out of bed feeling ready to battle the day but that’s not always the case… This is probably something everyone suffers with from time to time. There are days which seem so easy to glide through, ideas are coming from every direction and I’m feeling good. Then there’s days like today… I haven’t achieved anything of note, I can’t think of a single idea, I should have been out taking photos or getting on with projects, none of it’s happened, what’s that all about?

So where is my confidence, why am I moaning on, where is the positivity?Β 

“Instead of complaining that the rose bush is full of thorns, be happy the thorn bush has roses”

Good advice, could this all just be a question of perspective? I am after all the same person as I was yesterday, nothing in my life has actually changed. I’m a day older yes, I haven’t set the world on fire with anything I’ve done in the last 24 hours but so what?

We are in fact literally looking at life through a lens. Point it in the wrong direction, stand in the wrong light, focus it incorrectly and that image, that life will just look wrong won’t it. But I just don’t know if by just swivelling that lens about, by moving around, changing stance, that that will solve the problem? No it probably won’t but it will help, every little helps so we’re told. What is also necessary is acknowledging the fact that I’m being hard on myself. My feelings that life is perhaps being unfair to me is actually just me not being fair to myself. So I’m going to be nice to myself, and I will go back to making the most of my days.

I was reading some good writing sat on the tram this morning, it suggested making a list of things to be grateful for. Now I know that there are some days when it feels like there’s no reason to be grateful for anything but take the time to look harder and yes there it is something good, something nice – be it a smile from a stranger, a glimmer of sunlight on a flower, having my 2 legs working away for me when I ask them to, whatever. So I’m going to try and make the effort to do this, and maybe you should too, this world can be annoying at times but you know what I am actually glad to be a part of it and to have the opportunity and good fortune to have lots of nice things to take photos of. So that’s it, I’m now back on track… well for today at least!!Β 

By the way if anyone else has some useful advice on this subject I’d love to hear it!!

2 Comments Add yours

  1. “I was sad because I had no shoes to wear until I met a man with no feet.” There are only two things we can control in life and luckily those are the most important two things in life. We can control our actions and our reactions. It isn’t always easy but it can be done. May I suggest that on your lack of motivation days, you do one of two things. Either go out and find images that capture what you are feeling or go find images that others would find motivating and inspiring. Either way. Go out. Take action. Do.

    Like

    1. Thank you so much for taking the time to comment. I’m definitely going to try out those suggestions!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

